The Innovation Challenge now integrated into the Green Cross for Safety Awards!

The National Safety Council and Campbell Institute are proud to recognize innovation throughout the EHS field through the Green Cross for Safety Innovation Award. Open to organizations throughout the United States, the Green Cross for Safety Innovation Award recognizes transformational achievements in EHS. By sharing innovative approaches throughout the Council’s reach, we are collectively able to advance best safety practices, promote excellence, and celebrate breaking through traditionally held barriers.

The Green Cross for Safety Awards Celebration brings together the best and brightest in safety, while raising vital funds in support of mission critical initiatives. Outstanding achievements in safety are also recognized through three distinct awards.

The Campbell Institute encourages organizations to apply for the Innovation Award.



Recognition for a transformative approach to a long-held challenge in safety


Recognition for the unrelenting pursuit of exceptional, transferrable safety practices

Safety Advocate

Recognition for the advancement of evidence-based best practices to raise awareness or change policy to prevent further injuries and deaths


Winners will be announced at the Green Cross for Safety Awards Celebration on May 16, 2019 in Chicago.


Nominations for the 2019 Green Cross for Safety Awards open on August 15th and are accepted through November 11, 2018.  To learn more about the award application process or how your company can align its brand with NSC by supporting the 2019 Green Cross for Safety Awards Celebration, please visit

2018 Innovation Challenge Winner:

Category: Environmental Initiative

Read the Press Release

Campbell Institute Recognizes Innovation in the Workplace